Goals and Resolutions, 2016

I’ve mastered the art of non-committal and generally general goals and resolutions for 2016.

imageI read a short and sweet article the other day about the difference between goals and resolutions for the new year. Essentially, goals are finite while resolutions represent more of a lifestyle change. “Lose 20 pounds” is a goal; “exercise five times a week” is a resolution.

For 2016 I have a few goals and resolutions. I would like to lose some weight, but daily exercise continues to be a challenge. So I have a goal and a related resolution. (I also have some new outside gear for the MUCH colder weather in our new city.)

We would like to adopt this year. There are a lot of “finite” things we have to accomplish to see the big goal, but a major one is money. So I have a resolution related to regular savings, as well as some sub-goals related to financing.

As ever, reading/writing and creativity are part of my brain space. I’d like to write more (a resolution), and work on getting something published (that’d be a goal). I’ve been going strong on the handlettering, so I have a resolution related to doing that regularly. And I discovered a reading challenge that appealed to me greatly. I’ve already knocked one book off the list.

(I’ll probably post more fully about that reading challenge, along with my personal list, over on RaeReads.com at some point in the near future.)

Finally, I discovered this thing called “bullet journaling” which is a catch-all term for a simple planner and/or a long-term to-do list. The name “bullet journal” can be attributed to a specific guy, as well as one way to “do” bullet journaling. It’s a flexible system, though, and useful for getting and staying organized with tasks. I started trying it out in early December and have actually simplified how I “do” bullet journaling over the last few weeks. It’s handy.

I’m curious about your own goals and resolutions. Please share in the comments, or link to a post about what you look forward to in this new year.

Feliz año nuevo. (Improving my Spanish is a resolution!)

6 thoughts on “Goals and Resolutions, 2016”

  1. To Do lists are the salvation (in this life) of ADD’ers like me. I’ll check your list of books, but only after I finish a new bio of Detrich Bonhoffer. It’s long and heavy, so I have to come up for air often. That’s why I read your Blog – Fresh Air!
    GPa

    1. Sure! I discovered it on Pinterest so I’d recommend starting there. Just search for “bullet journal” and take a look at what pops up. Then look at the original concept over at bulletjournal.com

  2. Walk the dog (and me) to the dog park 5 days a week. I like to watch the big dogs run and I need the stretch of the leg, and the sunshine and fresh air.
    Attend Mass on Wednesday morning to keep my focus. Lots to pray about. 😉
    Read 2 books every week. One for fun, one for my brain.
    To be continued ….

What do you think?

