Pile O’ Blood

NOTE: I wrote this post in/around March of 2014, shortly after our try with IVF. At the time, I didn’t want to publish it because I was still wrapping my head around what was going on. Now my head is firmly wrapped.

We never did get any answers or definitive results from any of the rounds of testing we did. We are officially “unexplained infertile” and it will most likely stay that way until the end of time.


 

March 2014 — So Hubs and I scraped up enough moolah to try a round of IVF. It’s something that has been on the back burner for several years as we worked in recovering emotionally from multiple losses early on in our adventure. Last November we started taking a close look at how much IVF would cost, what would be involved.

It costs a lot. Our insurance doesn’t cover any infertility treatments. Grand total was over $13,000, which we paid in cash. Holy smokes that’s a lot of cash.

It involved a lot of needles. During one week I was injecting myself with three different needles every morning. I got pretty amazing at pinching my thighs. I got really good at giving blood too. Lotsa regular blood tests involved.

Unfortunately, the cycle failed. We had a positive pregnancy test and then the blood started flowing a few days later. We had some serious moments of despair that week. Plenty of quiet tears. Fortunately, this kind of loss is not the shock it once was.

We have had a few weeks to marinate on where we go from here. Before we started we were looking at adoption as our next move. Then, after the IVF cycle failed, I started investigating options closely. There are some things about our options that raise concerns for us. Still on the table, but cautiously.

I’m loathe to experience another pregnancy loss. It’s tough. It’s lonely, and I hate seeing my husband hurt. Watching him deal with this loss were some of the worst moments of my adult life.

So before we even think about any more medical interventions we are getting yet another round of tests done. This round tests both of us for chromosomal issues that might mess with a developing fetus. And I’m being tested for immunological issues that might account for a bunch of very early pregnancy fails.

I filled up a LOT of tubes the other day.

image

Fun fact: nurses love when you warn them about a vaso-vagal hypersensitivity ahead of time.

4 thoughts on “Pile O’ Blood”

  1. I may be a latecomer here on this, but if you really want a baby, adopt. My sister was adopted and she has always been my sister regardless of blood, and my mother has never treated her any different…well that’s not true, she was the last kid of three, and so she was the baby, thus special — you know “the baby” (that should be in italics). An adopted baby will be your baby, and in truth, will likely be the baby you were supposed to have, despite the fact that it didn’t come through your body. You know, in a spiritual universal sort of way. To be honest, chances are the adopted baby chose YOU (before coming into this world), and you will be right on cue and just in time to pick her/him up.
    That baby needs you for love and everything else you have to give it, and it will totally become your own.

    Make sure you get yourself a baby if you feel you need a baby. Otherwise you chance always feeling incomplete. Take a chance. I think health insurance will help in some cases. Don’t know your personal situation. I came on this site for the bathing suit. 🙂

What do you think?

