Hasta La Vista, Baby

Hasta La Vista, Baby | SundriedTomatoe.Wordpress.com

There wasn’t a lot of TV while I was growing up. I wasn’t exposed to pop movies or TV shows – my parents were relatively vigilant about making sure what I and my siblings saw was age and value appropriate.

As a result, I hit adulthood without seeing a lot of the classics of my era. Hubs has taken to the task of educating me on 80s and 90s pop culture like a fish to water.

Recently he had me start on the Terminator series. It was a rare geeky moment for him when he was telling me that this movie (the first one) was the start of “all that sci-fi stuff you love.” And it looks like he’s right.

Hasta La Vista, Baby | SundriedTomatoe.Wordpress.com

We’re on the second one now (it’s much better than the first) and Hubs says that’s really all I need to watch – the rest were just money-makers.

I have to say that I’m having the most fun quoting lines before we even get to those parts in the movie. Some movies (and songs) are so much a part of popular culture that you don’t even have to have seen them to know when the key lines are coming up. I’ve already wowed Hubs three times by anticipating a key quote: “I’ll be back,” or “hasta la vista, baby.”

I get a kick out of it because he’s always amazed – I think he thinks I’ve secretly seen the movie. “How did you know that?!” This movie-marathon is fun for both of us. 🙂

What other movies are a key part of 80s and 90s culture? I’m always adding to my “catch up” list.

Also, I want to look like Sarah Connor in Terminator 2. Minus the bangs.

Hasta La Vista, Baby | SundriedTomatoe.Wordpress.com

What do you think?

