Some Things About Me

It has been especially nice to have the time to blog semi-regularly and read others’ blogs as well. Lately I’ve been staying on top of a blog called My Perfect Breakdown, written by a sassy Canadian who has (along with her spouse) been through some of the same stuff as we have. I especially appreciate her perspective on having a strong “work/career” identity that has taken a major hit as a result of years of miscarriage and loss.

Definitely speaks to me on a personal level.

As a result of regular following, I’m on her radar and have been tagged to answer some questions. I like talking about myself so I’m totally participating.

The Rules:

  • Link to the person who nominated you.
  • Add the award logo.
  • Answer the questions your nominator asked.
  • Nominate 7 other blogs.
  • Ask your nominees 10 questions.

I’m not going to follow all the rules because I’m a rebel and a badass. And also lazy. But I am totally going to answer the questions.

And nominate some people.

And come up with new questions.

The Questions:

You are most like ________ in Harry Potter. Explain why.

I’m most like Fleur because I’m gorgeous and I speak with a delightful French accent.

Just kidding, I’m probably most like McGonagall. I love rules. I keep a cool head in a crisis. Everyone around me kind of loves me but is also kind of scared of me. My hair looks great in a bun. And if I was an Animagus I would 100% be a cat.

Cardio or weight training or neither?

I’m not a fan of physical discomfort. So neither.

Video games – yes. Physical activity – not so much.

In a perfect world, I would love running and do it every day. In real life, I WANT to love running, and I keep trying to do it… with little success.

Describe your idea of a perfect date night.

Dinner at a seafood restaurant by the sea, sit in sand in the dark talking about things close to our hearts. Then ice cream. All good dates end with ice cream.

Are you a breakfast person? If so what’s your favourite breakfast meal?

I’m not a breakfast person. Lately I’ve been having some success with homemade granola, greek yogurt, and berries. It’s enough savory to keep me happy, doesn’t include eggs, which have been the only breakfast food I can stomach for a good decade, and has enough of all the good nutrients and whatnot to keep me going for the whole morning.

In that perfect world I mentioned above, three cups of coffee would give me all the vitamins, nutrients, and protein I need for the whole morning.

What is on your birthday wish list for this year (other than a baby)?

Ooh that’s a fun one. Here are some pictures.

Because I’ve been into quilting recently:

Because I want a backlit-free reading option at night (and my old standby has finally bit the dust):

Because creativity:

Because classics never die:

Beer or wine or neither? And what is your preferred brand?

I love beer. I have no idea why I have such a preference for beer, especially since I am also a fan of wine. Given the choice, I will always choose beer. Maybe it’s the carbonation…

http://www.yuengling.com/
http://www.yuengling.com/

Lagers are my preferred beer and Yuengling (native to Pennsylvania) is my favorite. It’s not distributed in Texas (at all) so I rarely get a taste of it these days. In its absence, I will try just about any kind of beer. Hoppy beers and IPAs are always interesting to me.

What is your dream vacation?

Months-long tour of all the places my family (families) come from to include: Italy, Catalonia, Croatia, Ireland, and Cuba.

What is your dream job and why?

My super-duper dream job is A-list film actress with a long-running TV show as my “regular” job. A few reasons why: 1) I would like to act for a living; I think that’d be awesome; 2) I’d like to be renowned for my acting chops; 3) a few million bills in the bank would be excellent. Just sayin.

My IRL dream job is successful writer. I have to start writing in earnest for that to happen, but I think that one is actually doable.

Flats or heels?

I just can’t wear heels. I don’t know why or what it is but I get terrible pain in one of my feet any time I walk around in a pair of heels. This makes footwear shopping pretty easy for me, and also alleviates some of the special tailoring necessary for trousers when tall(ish) ladies buy heels.

Name 3 little known facts about you.

1) I have a birthmark on my index finger. It came in very handy in high school when I was testing out curse words and trying out obscene gestures like the “middle finger.”

2) I’m really good at accents. Like, savant good.

3) Despite my natural penchant for talking with people and joking and whatnot, I’m actually quite a bit of a loner. I didn’t always embrace my loner tendencies, but in the last year or two I’m really beginning to enjoy it.

Now for tagging. I have no idea who reads this thing anymore so I tag YOU, the reader. If you write a blog, I hereby challenge you to answer the following questions about yourself.

If you could have one enhanced natural ability, what would it be? (This is kind of like super-powers but no laser eyeballs or invisibleness or anything.) 

What is your favorite animal and why do you think that is?

Who would play you in the movie version of your life? Why them?

Speaking of movie versions of your life, what song plays during the closing credits?

Please tell a short story from your life that involves a car. 

What does the world need more of?

If you refuse to accept this mission you are a big giant party pooper. Here’s a badge for you. Put it on your blog.

partypooper badge | sundriedtomatoe.wordpress.com

 

1 thought on “Some Things About Me”

  1. I loved reading this! I find these so fun because they take us outside of our IF/RPL. If I am ever in your part of the USA, I will definitely be trying that beer! 🙂
    And thank you for your kind words. I am ever so touched.

What do you think?

