Anti-Emo

This was posted by an Emo teen I know.

20140104-122909.jpg

Any time I see something like this I immediately want to spam their feed with these kinds of images, along with the caption, “THIS doesn’t suck.”

20140104-122933.jpg

20140104-122940.jpg

20140104-122952.jpg

20140104-123007.jpg

20140104-123014.jpg

Immediately after that I’m tempted to post specific things that legitimately suck, of which Emo teens have no concept:

  • Bills
  • Health Insurance
  • Breast Cancer
  • Your Dad getting Alzheimer’s
  • Your college mate killed in combat
  • Divorce
  • Death of a child
  • Layoffs
  • Balding (suckier for women, but still)
  • Knee replacement surgery
  • Ovarian Cysts
  • Lyme Carditis
  • Your house burning down
  • Failed Adoptions
  • Going blind

It occurs to me, as I write this list, that many things suck. And yet, I rarely, if ever, consider them in the long term. They are finite tragedies, to deal with and escape from as soon and as healthily as possible.

I certainly don’t think “everything sucks.”

But then I realize that I kind of DID think that in high school. In fact, I kind of was an Emo teen, although I wasn’t as overt about it as some are.

Adulthood, and encountering some of those “truly sucky” things in real life have given me the perspective I didn’t have in teen-hood. Not simply that, but also the ability to escape what I was going through for short amounts of time and willfully experience things that don’t suck, like cookies and sunsets and the ocean and chunky baby legs.

The ability to escape / find non-sucky things didn’t exist for me in my teen years.

So I guess I find it hard to be too harsh on Emo teens – they lack the ability or wherewithal to compare things that truly suck against things that truly do not suck. It’s easy to fall into the “everything sucks” vortex of doom when you’re not able or willing to recognize non-sucky things.

Like cookies and pups and overstuffed couches.

What things would YOU use to demonstrate a decidedly NON-sucky outlook on life?

What do you think?

