I Lurv Mah Pets

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comI flipping love our pets.

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comThey are easy, even when they’re being difficult because their needs and motivations are simple and constant: food, clear boundaries, regular exercise, positive reinforcement.

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comThey always, always, ALWAYS want to be around me, no matter how sad, cranky, ridiculous, or random I’m being. They have never not thought I’m amazing.

Humans don’t have that much appreciation for me. (Well, maybe Hubs. Although I’m pretty sure my lack of concern over laundry has killed the never-not thing.)

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comBecause I’m a dang good “alpha” they are well behaved. They like nothing more than to obey, guard, and wander with me.

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comThey entertain me.

(Kitty is not so great at the “walking with me” bit, but she makes up for it in “napping with me.”)

lurv pets | a post from sundriedtomate.wordpress.comThey’re beautiful and I’m glad they’re in my life.

I don’t love them like I love people, but the relationship I have with them IS love. It’s also (usually) deep affection and genuine delight. Especially when they pull off the sit/shake/jump combo.

Then I REALLY love them.

(My love is conditional.)

What about you? How do you feel about pets? (Yours in particular, but others as well.) How would you describe your relationship with them?

Happy New Year!

What do you think?

