Turning 30: Good Excuse for a Party

I turn 30 this year, which is freaking awesome. I look amazing and I still act like a 17 year old so I’m winning.

Generally, Hubs and I aren’t great with having people in our space, so we rarely act as hosts. In the last year we’ve matured enough to manage to have a few people over to watch a game or a fight. Over the summer I hosted Trashy Summer Novel Book Club here. Once.

However, I’ve always secretly harbored the desire to be the hostess with the mostest, throwing insanely lavish events with peacocks in the backyard and ice sculptures and things. And I have a big birthday this year, so now’s my chance.

After some soul-searching (and bank account searching) I realized that live peacocks isn’t feasible. Instead, I might let the chickens roam around for a bit. That’s kind of a bummer, but then one of my sisters (Prose) reminded me of Jennifer Garner’s breakout role as Jenna Rink in 13 going on 30. “Thirty, flirty, and thriving” is 13-year-old Jenna Rink’s greatest dream and during her 13th birthday party she gets time-warped to 30 years old.

Aside from this fact that this is one of the greatest movies of all time (Judy Greer as the evil best friend and a spontaneous Thriller dance where EVERYONE knows all the steps?! Come ON!), I loved the idea of a throwback party to when I was 13. The problem is that I was totally sheltered when I was 13. I’m pretty sure we were still drinking Rice Dream, barely knew what a TV was (other than a magical, magnetic machine at our friend’s houses), and we spent a lot of time “scripture fighting” with each other.

He who calls his brother a fool is guilty of the same as murder!

The greedy man stirs up conflict, but those who trust in the Lord will prosper!

The 90s in general, however, were a time of great awakening for me and my sister Zizi. We did eventually get regular access to a TV (and we watched a lot of it). We fully embraced aspects of the grunge look after living so long in neatly managed, well-laundered clothes (so repressive!). Our secular musical tastes expanded beyond U2, Stevie Ray Vaughn, and Ladysmith Black Mambazo (although that grouping seems pretty awesome as I type it… good job, Dad and Mom).

So the party, I have decided, will be a celebration of the 90s. I don’t really have specifics yet on HOW it will celebrate the 90s, other than people dressing in Gap khakis and listening to Nirvana, but I have a lot of forgotten inspiration available via a quick Google search.

I’m excited.

Steve Urkel – most beloved nerd of all time?
What kind of monster discontinues a treat like this?
Lisa Loeb was the woman I wanted to become, even though I had no idea who she was.
Super Nintendo!! Remember!
Disturbingly animated cartoons seem to be a 90s hallmark.
2 thoughts on “Turning 30: Good Excuse for a Party”

What do you think?

