Who are you?

I can’t help but hum the theme song to one of the CSI shows (Miami?) when I read the title of this blog post. The Who really was an amazing band.

In one of my (many) classes, we are talking about the Self and Identity. There’ s a distinction drawn, which basically comes down to this: the Self is “who we are” – sort of how we look at and view our own self. Identity is how we appear – how other people look at and view us.

It was kind of a cool chat because we got into how our Identity (ie: how we interact with the world) contrasts with what we know of ourselves.

All this is fancy talk for “you act one way at work and one way at Grandma’s, but neither of those is you, or at least not all of you.”

Made me think of the way I have embraced the concept of Identity, and how being aware of how I appear to others has changed my life. Normal people call it “growing up,” but I have much cooler phrases for it since I’m deep in the pit of overwhelming reading in the HSOML.

I never would have been able to KEEP the job I have now, much less GET it, had I not begun to cultivate a “professional Rae” who dresses very nicely and doesn’t curse (much). My Self loves to curse, and also loves jeans. But my work Identity is a non-cursing, skirt-wearing individual.

Everyone does this, of course. It was just fun to talk about, and more fun to think about. I found myself wondering what my classmates were hiding (or not) for their class Identity. It’s a quiet, respectful class. But just the two weeks of school have already revealed to me that at least one of my classmates is as much of a chatty Cathy as I am outside of the classroom. How come her in-class Identity is so freakin’ quiet?!

Also, why do the Irish use the term “Himself” to identify people?

1 thought on “Who are you?”

  1. I’ve always loved the Irish “himself.” It’s like an ongoing cultural joke, a form of deliberate ambiguity built into the conventional language – one never knows if the speaker is using it in a deprecating or grudgingly respectful way. Sometimes it is both, simultaneously. Perfectly Irish.

What do you think?

