Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?

Hubs is the best thing in my life, bar none.

My husband is a special kind of man. He is a warrior. From the first day I met him I knew he was a warrior, that his best traits were the ones that matter the most in battle: honor, courage, strength, determination, and loyalty. For me, life is an ongoing series of battles — some of life is victory, some is defeat. So a warrior is just right (especially the specific one I’m married to).

Being married to a warrior is not easy. There’s nothing sure about the warrior lifestyle. Where we live, what we do, whether we’ll see each other tomorrow or next week or next year: none of these things are solid. It means being far from family and friends, from a culture we’re used to. It means depending on strangers for support, on continuously readjusting, always reassessing because things always change. In a life like this, there’s very little in the way of firm foundation.

And that, actually, is kind of why being married to a warrior is so wonderful. In a few short years, going through things that might have torn us apart, we have (instead) become each others’ rocks. My husband is a calm place, a safe harbor, solid ground. I depend on him and rely on him in a way that I just wouldn’t if I were married to a different kind of man. And I think the same could be said for him. We want to need each other (as married couples often do), and we actually do need each other. And so we have come to trust, depend on, and respect each other in a way that seems uncommon.

Uncommon valor. That’s my man.

.

2 thoughts on “Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?”

  1. The only fly in the ointment with really good husbands is that when they hurt, you really hurt. It does do something for the glue that holds you together though and makes for an awesome life overall.

What do you think?

