Day 23 → Something you wish you had done in your life.

I wish I had snuck out of the house more as a teenager.

Pretty sure Dad and Mom will not agree with this one, but it is one of my greatest regrets. I played by the rules, man, still do. Hubs teases me about it regularly. I get bent out of shape very quickly when others don’t follow the rules. Rules are there for a reason. If I don’t like ’em, I should get to where I can change ’em, and not waste time complaining.

Anyways, I wish I had broken some more. My teenage years consisted of a lot of memories of screwing up but not being solid on where, exactly, I’d gone wrong. I can only remember a few instances where I got reamed out for something and I was like, “this is totally legit, I’m very clear on why this is happening.” A lot of my troubled youth had more to do with a generally sour attitude than any blatant rule-breaking.

I wish I’d done a little bit more of that. I should have discovered jello shots earlier. I should know the subtle nuances of climbing out the back window. I be able to avoid the squeaky step with my eyes closed, in my sleep. By not sneaking out more I missed out on so many good stories.

Missing out on good stories is the greatest tragedy of all, isn’t it?

.

7 thoughts on “Day 23 → Something you wish you had done in your life.”

  1. have more than a few memories of sneaking out and being where I wasn't supposed to be…but a solid fear of my Dad & not wanting to disappoint my Mom = pretty much kept me in line & on the right side of the law. Oldest Daughter syndrome was at work. The Marines was a good place for me 🙂 (work hard – play hard). Every experience has become a part of who I am today. No Regrets.

  2. Oh heck. I didn't sneak out much either…but I'm convinced it's no great loss. Regrets…only a few, and nothing to worry about. Sounds that way for you too!

  3. If only the good stories came without potential for really horrible consequences. Or for that matter, actual horrible consequences.
    Logically that would mean that the people with the best stories are dead.
    Hence the Darwin Awards, I guess.

  4. That's the best ya got? Sneaking out and more jello shots? Really? I have lots of regrets. The way I treated my dad and mom, what I studied in college, that I let myself be overweight and shy, not going to my grandfather's funeral (I won't go into it here). I was a mess and sometimes feel I still am. You must have been kind of together then to. Me? Not so much…

What do you think?

