Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.

The truthful (though not transparent) answer to this one is that I have avoided discussing this subject both in public (blogland) and private (family) because it is highly divisive. There’s a few things I don’t generally discuss. Gay marriage isn’t the only subject I stay mum on. Abortion is another one. So is illegal immigration. And organized religion. And vegans. (Just kidding, I talk smack on vegans pretty regularly.)

I’ve never heard or been involved in a conversation about these kinds of subjects where the people involved changed their minds. Usually it’s just an opportunity to fight, if not overtly, then disguised as “I just want to know where you’re coming from!” But, for me, most divisive subjects are not about a lack of information but rather a difference of opinion about where primary value lies.

I vote for, write letters about, and make donations toward causes I support. I just don’t talk about some of them.

That’s the truth, and I’m stickin’ to it.

.

7 thoughts on “Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.”

  1. You are sane and reasonable. I try to practice the path you have described, but with mixed success. As time went on I got tired of alienating people, so that's been a motivation to keep my mouth shut. I've gotten slightly better at recognizing when someone actually wants to have a discussion.

  2. Very well put. You're right that discussions about subjects like gay marriage and abortion usually don't result in a change in someone's views.

  3. I agree. People that say they are undecided are kidding themselves and others. I too am vocal, but I have tried to narrow it down for the people in government to just TELL THE TRUTH. Now that is a hearty goal, ain't it? lol..

What do you think?

