Day 15 → Something or someone you tried to live without, and can’t.

I would go a step further and say that today’s subject is something I would LIKE to live without, and have TRIED to live without, and just can’t. And that subject would be work. Or deadlines (I’m very bad at setting deadlines for myself, so bosses, ie: “work,” does it for me).

In my epic fail of trying to live without work, I had a lot of time to contemplate and marinate on others around me who were attempting to do the same. A lot of you (who have already tried some version of this) might recognize my weird little game, where I quit work, then within a few weeks I am insanely busy because I’ve created a bunch of projects for myself to simulate a work environment. Maybe it’s visiting with friends. Maybe it’s traveling. Maybe it’s NaNo.

I enjoy being busy. I also enjoy video games, but my hardworking parents (thanks A LOT) ruined video-game marathons for me because Guilt sets in after about ten hours of hardcore gaming. So I look for things that I can define as “productive” and commit myself to them.

That’s not to say that I actually stick with it. The other thing I do poorly with is not just not having work, but not having real deadlines. When I make my own deadlines up they are fake; I can ignore them. So usually I do. But then I leave things in the dust when a new, more interesting project comes up. Or when someone calls me to go out to lunch.

So work/deadlines is something I tried to live without and have been unsuccessful at, thus far. That’s not to say that someday I won’t hit upon the perfect storm of productivity and you’re-not-the-boss-of-me. But, for now, I must resign myself to the fact that I do much better as a drone.

(It helps me sleep at night.)

.

1 thought on “Day 15 → Something or someone you tried to live without, and can’t.”

  1. Are you doing NaNo this year? I am grateful for the NaNo deadline right now. It's giving me something to work toward. Yes, it's self-imposed, but it's better than October!

What do you think?

