Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on.

Nobody ever compliments me on my Grammy-quality voice!

I suspect this may be because I’m not quite as great as I think I am when it comes to singing. But then, anytime I starting thinking like that I immediately snap to all those times when I sang in a group and was the only one who could stay on key.

Maybe that’s the problem, I’m mistaking my good ear for a good mouth.

Regardless, it’s important to me that people understand just how fabulous my voice really is. Not only can I stay on key, and match pitch as a general rule, but I’m actually pretty soulful when I really get into it.

Oh, okay. Another problem then, is that I rarely get into it.

THIS has to do with the fact that I suspect everyone shares my crippling reaction to slightly off-key singing. I literally have a physical reaction to a little sharp (or flat). It’s similar to the kind of reaction that some people have when they listen to a fork scraping a plate, or something scratching a chalkboard, or that balloon-rubbing noise. The hairs on the back of my neck stand up, I get a slight feeling of nausea, and sometimes my ears start doing weird things. I think they’re trying to close up so I can’t hear the horror anymore.

Anyways, I am well aware that I (even with my fabulous singing voice) am guilty of off-key (or desperately-trying-to-stay on-key) moments, especially when I’m singing along to a song that is out of my range. When I hear myself sing poorly (rare as that happens), it bugs me. So I’m just trying to spare everyone extreme agony.

But seriously, guys, I’m a really good singer.

.

5 thoughts on “Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on.”

  1. I believe you too. If you can't let it out in public…than holler all you want in the car. With or with out the radio…it doesn't matter. Just sing. I think there are healing qualities to doing it. Really.

  2. I hear you! I cringe (and turn up my nose) when people miss notes. It is physically uncomfortable to listen to the national anthem sometimes. Didn't those people have to audition?!

    On the other hand, one of my favorite stories that my dad tells is the one where the children's choir director told him that he has a voice that “naturally harmonizes,” which is a nice way of saying he missed all the notes. 😀

What do you think?

