Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.

I hope I never have to part with my husband.

Hubs is far and away the most important, influential, and awesome person in my life. From the very first day we met I pegged him as confident without being cocky, hilarious without being overwhelming, charming without being smarmy, intelligent without being snobby, and the list goes on and on. I tried to figure out every which way to be around him, to know more of him (which wasn’t too hard, since he was doing the same).

In the two years we dated he became my best friend. We had enough time to come down off of our “luv” highs to really get to know each other. Throughout that period, he was the one person I was glad to spend the majority of my time with; I never got tired of him. In those two years, I grew to love a man who is loyal, determined without stubbornness, strong without posturing, humble without resentment, truthful without cruelty, and the list goes on and on.

In the four (?) years we’ve been married, we have moved across the country. We found out what kind of pet people we are. We successfully made big purchases together. We went on vacations (usually in very warm sunny climates). We cheered each other on through career changes, and right on into promotions. We’ve also had fights. We’ve stubbornly disagreed on important issues. We’ve resented each other. We’ve been unabashedly selfish. And we’ve hit upon some personal tragedy which has rocked us in profound ways. Through it all, the man I married has continued to be my best friend, the one I want to spend my time with.

Hubs has become both less “perfect” since the day I met him, and so much more wonderful than I ever imagined a man could be. He is compassionate, solid, impressive, witty, talented, wise, handsome, and he has excellent taste in music. It is my most fervent hope that our lives always continue together, that the lists of good things go on and on until the day(s) we die. Because he is a good man, a man I was delighted to meet, proud to introduce to my father, excited to marry, and am grateful to have as a husband.

Most of all, because he loves me. And he makes me laugh every day I’m alive.

.

1 thought on “Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.”

What do you think?

