An Open Letter to Mr. Incredible

To My Awe-Inspiring Husband:

You exist. I waited all my life for you, and trusted and had faith that you were out there. And you were. That one fact is the best proof I’ve ever had that God exists, that persistence in the face of hardship pays off, that trust and hope are worth hanging on to, that life is wonderful, and that faith in good things is never unfounded.

I think we’ve been through some tough shit in the years since we said our vows. I’d say that it’s personally been some of the hardest times of my life. It’s rocked me and scarred me and frightened me. And you know, I cherish it. We got through this stuff purely because of each other. The things that could have broken us were the things that cemented us.

Every day starts out as a good day, because you are in my life. You make me laugh easily, and all the time. Your sense and your willingness to communicate with me makes my world right itself. Spending time with you is my absolute favorite thing. My pride in your abilities is reflected in every conversation I have with others. Your consistent admiration in my own abilities has kept me moving, often in the face of serious self-doubt.

You have been my rock, and my biggest fan. We have become so much a part of each other’s lives that I think we’ve started some basic mind-reading…

You are awesome, incredible, and I love you with all my heart. I still can’t quite believe I get to be your wife.

Thank you for marrying me. 

.

7 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Mr. Incredible”

What do you think?

