Accomplishment!

I ran a 10k recently.

Mmmmm… I should say “completed,” I completed a 10k recently.

(I definitely ran for the last bit, though.)

This race is, for me, what we runners (HA! I’m a runner!) call an LDR, or longest distance run.

And let me be clear that this was an official LDR.

Back in high school, when I did sports, over a decade ago (yikes), I ran in both cross-country and track. High school cross-country meets are 5k races (3.1 miles). The longest distances in track meets are two miles. I did run some extreme distances in practice, but never officially, in a race.

I should take this moment to note that I didn’t actually run in Track, either. I generally spent every weekday in the spring goofing off and developing shin splints at the high jump mats. So I just goofed off, basically. No real running involved.

 I know, it’s hard to believe that I would goof off before a run. Or before anything else.

The same young lady who inspired me to get running last November, when she ran a half marathon, also ran this race.

I should note that she probably actually ran the whole thing. She just continues to inspire and encourage me. She’s ALWAYS game for running.

(From the half marathon. That’s more than double the distance of a 10k. 

And another friend willingly stood at the finish line, cheering and taking photographs. I needed a cheerer slash photographer, too. Because I do best when I have a willing and enthusiastic audience.

I should note that she actively encouraged goofing off.

I blame my parents.

Anyways, yes, I am tooting my own horn. Mostly because this race was painful and stupidly long and so incredibly hot that I am going to make sure everyone is clear on exactly how much of an accomplishment finishing was.

Also, community validation tends to work best in mentally cementing accomplishments for me. And as much as I said “it’s all about finishing for this one!” beforehand, I still looked at that clock at the end. Despite the competitive vestigages still left over from years of cross-country (which ended a looooong time ago), I want to make sure LDRs really continue to mean “accomplishment!” to me, going forward.

Because despite the 100+ degree summers and the nasty hills and the stupid distances, I plan on doing this for a long time.

It is an awesome feeling.

9 thoughts on “Accomplishment!”

  1. Congrats! I started with 5k's, which I love. I did a half two years ago and I can't seem to motivate myself to do it again even though I swore I would. Seeing your pics makes me miss those moments when you're ACCOMPLISHING something that is not only a physical challenge, but a mental one as well. You have to be dedicated and I need the kick in the tail. Thanks!

What do you think?

