Spelling is Fun(ny)

One interesting thing about living in a multi-lingual community (I can TOO say that, it’s Spanish, English, Spanglish, and I just heard a Yiddish word the other day so we got that going for us…) is that spellings get a little out of control.

I’m sure there’s a very formal, appropriate linguistic term for this kind of thing, I just don’t care enough to figure out what that term might be.

You may remember this beauty, from way back:

I can’t blame them, really. This is a classic mistake, and one I make myself, in my native language, on a regular basis.

In fact, it is barely noticable. I drove past it for two months before I realized it had an extra vowel.

Other, more insidious spelling tricks surface, however, the more I immerse myself in the culture. They are deviations which yield such delightful results that I have found myself acquiring a whole new, completely ridiculous vocabulary, because I can not bear to let those delicious words languish in snobbish non-use.

(I did not take this picture, but I can’t tell you who did.)

“Remodelation” just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it?

Finally, I received a text message response to a witty rejoinder that made me double over in laughter myself, then immediately adopt the phrase. When I read the following, I first read it with an American-English pronunciation:

Which, in Am-English, is pronounced something like: Gia-gia-gia! (A chanted homage to the earth goddess, perhaps?)

When, in fact, the writer meant it to be pronounced: Hah-hah-hah! (Laughter.)

So now, when people tell me they are going to remodelate their apartament, I reply with a hearty “GIA-GIA-GIA” to indicate my appreciation of the humorous pronunciations.

PS: When I looked up “jajaja,” I found another gem: Oftenly.

PPS: In more jajaja news, the JaJaJa Festival is a huge Nordic music shindig in London, UK, with better artwork than mine. If you can believe it.

6 thoughts on “Spelling is Fun(ny)”

  1. I am utterly ashamed to say that although I have enough French and German to get by and a little Italian (and am reasonably proficient in English!) and have smatterings of one or two other languages I went to Spain for the first time perhaps 8 years ago at a couple of days notice and realised as I got off the plane that I didn't know a single word of Spanish.

    After a while I discovered that I knew more than I had realised. But it made me appreciate the mistakes that are easily made with pronunciation versus spelling. I was always being looked at with a frown when I pronounced Spanish words as though they were Italian.

    So I no longer look at such 'mistakes' with any contempt but with complete tolerance. I just hope that people extend the same tolerance to me when I'm in that situation.

  2. Awewsome….and only because I have recently been exposed to this text. I have quickly adopted it into my vocabulary with the “gia-gia-gia” pronunciation.

  3. Pity the poor language learner trying to figure out “nuclear” vs. “nucular” or the difference between “cavalry” and “calvary” when native speakers can't even keep them straight.

What do you think?

