Freaky Friday

Dear Readers:

First, thank you for all the comments, lamenting the lack of new posts. Had I not been born in the best state in the nation (New Jersey, FYI), I may have taken your criticism the wrong way. Thankfully for you, however, my ego is so ridiculous and my need for attention is so great that every “start BLOGGING again, NOW!” directive was like an angelic choir of gloriousness.

I’ll have you know that I am NOT done the darn paper yet. It is a full-scale pre-publishable academic research paper and it’s the first one I’ve ever done. Because my actual job is communicating proper writing techniques to new college students, and because I have a strong sense of ethical integrity I am trying to follow my own, much offered, writing advice. That is, I’m trying to practice what I preach. And here is something I’ve learned this week:

What I preach takes a long freaking time. And it’s very boring.

I’m done a rough draft. That took me, literally, a week. Now I have (ideally) two revisions and a proof-read before the thing goes to prof. (That’s a fun play on “goes to press;” did you catch it?) I’m not going to lie, I hate school right now. No wonder so many students ignore my well-intentioned advice. I’m trying to ignore it myself.

Here’s the thing, though. I know I’m right and I hate it. I am filled with self-loathing at my own smugness, but I can’t ignore me. If I actually dedicate myself to the behemoth of work I pontificate about, I will have a solid product at the end. I know it.

But I’m not lying, it’s like being attached to Jabba the Hutt for three weeks. It. Is. ExHAUSting. (And gross. My body isn’t really made for metal bikinis.)

I’ve earned at least one bloggy reprieve, however. I’ll be working on a real post for the near future. And maybe even more than one.

I like you guys. Thanks for validating my spotlighting.

-Rae

PS: One of my friends just started up a blog called “Photo Freak,” a mix of her own journey as a photographer and interaction with readers. This week’s assignment: picture of yourself (or your kids) with a moustache. Deadline Tuesday. You should participate. I would love to see my bloggy buddies with ‘staches.

So, post AND picture(s) to follow.

PPS: I know this post is titled “Freaky Friday” and it’s really Saturday, but I’m out of practice. It took me a long time to finish this.Β 

12 thoughts on “Freaky Friday”

  1. Good luck on the paper. I'm a former high school teacher and I prepped kids to take the ACT. My advice was sound, but following it for the GRE is…well, boring.

    I think I more fully appreciate their writing struggles as I struggle with basic math concepts.

    Thanks for your vote of confidence, I need it! Your paper is going to be awesome! πŸ™‚

    Off to check out Photo Freak. πŸ™‚

  2. That's why I took math classes.

    I invited you to play a game (details on my blog) but I'm uninviting you… you don't need the distraction… carry on.

  3. So good to see your post! Living up to my own advice has always been among the most obnoxious tasks. But since you are a great instructor you will have a GREAT paper when you are all done the delirious boredom of it all.

    A boring task is God's gift to the smart. It's like an iron plow through the clay soil of smartness. It pulls the soil apart and turns it over so it aerates and can actually grow something, instead of just laying there hard, glossy and lifeless.

    Now I'm going to be quiet in case God is reading the blog and thinking of giving me something boring to do.

  4. Can I just say that I can't even imagine why anyone would wear a metal bikini, and FYI – how many weeks did she go without food to get that particular physique? This is a full grown, short person (less than 5'2″). There is only so much space an adult liver, GI tract, heart, lungs, etc. can fit into. I believe it paid off for her. She will forever be frozen in time as the spunky, fit, Princess Leia.
    Well, me and my little poochie stomach gotta go get ready for dinner. After all – some of us are just 'classic one piece' kinda gals πŸ™‚

  5. “What I preach takes a long freaking time. And it's very boring.”

    Amen.

    One of my axioms is… “I see myself and others through kind eyes.”

    If you were counseling yourself as a visiting student who is feeling like you do… What words of encouragement would you offer?

    “Keep going. Don' quit. You're more than half-way there. The first draft is the hardest. Put on some good music. You can do this!”

    Something like that?

    I did my master's thesis eight years or so ago. 50+ pages. The best writing of my life (academically). Long. Hard. Boring. And… done. (Plus, I learned some things.) Whew.

What do you think?

