What I’ve *Got: Nae

This is me and my friend, Nae. She was the first person I met in Mexas.

Nae is an EMT. She’s passionate about her job, especially about doing it right. When she moved to Mexas, she found that the opportunities for a female EMT were all but nil. Didn’t stop her, though. She found a place to work and quickly carved a niche for herself as one of the most respected EMTs in the area. I have rarely met someone who cares so deeply and profoundly for each and every one of her patients, sometimes on principle alone (old diabetics who don’t speak your language can be severely frustrating).

I want her to go get her M.D. and start a practice down here so I never have to worry about finding a doctor again. In the meantime, I will continue to pester her for remedies to various ailments, including but not limited to radiation poisoning (water), pandemic vaccines (swine-flu), and rapid hydration (hangovers).

That kind of quality of care carries over into other areas of her life, like friendship.

One memory that worked its way to the surface and has been rolling around for a few days is one I mentioned briefly in yesterday’s post. Last year, I woke Nae up out of a sound sleep at the butt-crack of late-night, in a foreign city, after working and driving all the previous day, told her it was serious, and asked her to drive me back home.

And she did it. Just like that.

She didn’t ask any questions. She didn’t hover. She just got out of bed, collected her stuff, and walked with me out to the parking lot. She fielded all calls and texts from the group we were supposed to be meeting for breakfast, but were now totally standing up AND stranding. She even changed the radio to non-country music. If I talked, she talked, but otherwise she let me be.

I will probably remember that car ride for the rest of my life, but not for what I thought I’d remember it for. Rather for this: A lot of people talk about theoretically being able to call on someone at two in the morning and how theoretically super that person on the other end of the line theoretically is for theoretically being there.

Well, my friend is literally that super.

*More on this subject in the coming days. I’m feeling grateful for awesome people lately.

6 thoughts on “What I’ve *Got: Nae”

  1. Rae, thank you 🙂 I feel so blessed to have such a great friend here in Mexas/Tejas. You're a keeper!
    -Nae

What do you think?

