AN AWARD!

AHHHHHH! I won a blog-award. This one is, I think, especially fitting. It was bestowed upon me by DawnTreader over at Island of the Voices. Here are her exact words explaining why I am so mightily deserving of this award:

This not just as retaliation but because she’s a clever writer who really knows how to make excellent use of “over-the-top”…

My suspicion is that she took a look at my Halloween post and decided that cake could not go unanswered.

The following is a list of time-consuming status updates which I will complete, but cutting out any I don’t like or want to answer, thus furthering DawnTreader’s “let’s buck the blog-award system” rallying call. If you want to know which questions I skipped you can go check DawnTreader’s blog because she actually answered them all.

1. Where is your cell phone? My phone is about four inches from my right hand. The volume is set at 3/4, and it’s on vibrate as well, in case the ring gets muffled somehow. I am currently hyper-aware of my phone because I’ve been waiting for a phone call from Hubs for WEEKS. I don’t know when or where he can call, so the phone has become an extra limb, just in case.

2. Your hair? Is a new, FABULOUS color, a rich chocolaty brown, and totally worth the arm + leg I paid for it. BUT I am also freaking out because my hairdresser commented (very offhand) that it looks like my hair is thinning. Now I compulsively check my hair in the mirror. Every time I find a “thinning spot” I get nauseous and a rush of adrenaline. MAYBE I’M DYING. Then I go to bed, and the thinning spot is gone the next morning.

3. Your mother? My mom is the kind of person who has spent her entire life embodying one of the central tenets of Christianity: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Even to her personal detriment, she works tirelessly to make life better for those around her. As I’ve aged (gracefully) I’ve become more aware of just how much of her own humanness she overcomes to serve others. When I see a picture of Mother Teresa, I think of my mother. ALSO, she is DIY guru, teacher of all things handy, diagnostic whiz, nutritionist, and arriving in Tejas on THURSDAY!

4. Your father? My dad was one of the few who got a nickname by my friends when I was in high school even though none of my classmates ever interacted with him on any real level. You know what his nickname was? Atticus. As in, Atticus Finch, the father in To Kill a Mockingbird. You can read a description of Atticus (uncannily double-timing as a description of my father) right here. I was insanely proud of that nickname.

7. Your favorite drink? I am a huge fan of Diet Coke. I drink multiple cans a day, and I have been known to waylay entire trips because I had insufficient DC funds. On the alcoholic front (best war ever fought…) I also like beer from local/regional microbreweries. I am a very big fan of interesting beers.

8. Your dream/goal?
Dream is to travel to and around Europe and Asia with Hubs, beginning soon.
Goal is to complete a graduate degree in Literature.
Super-goal is to go ahead and snag a Ph.D.

10. Your hobby? “Blogging,” but really just tweaking stories about my life so that they sound incredibly interesting. This is how I stay positive, by convincing others that my life is amazing. Then, when they validate my stories (because that’s what motivates me, validation), they are awesome/epic stories and my life is, therefore, awesome and epic.

12. Where do you want to be in 6 years? Independently wealthy, crafting and writing ridiculous fiction and making my husband delicious dinners from scratch every night, on our privately owned island in the South Pacific.

14. Something that you aren’t? Shy.

17. Where did you grow up? I was born in New Jersey and lived there for almost a decade before we moved out, but I would say I grew up in the Blue Ridge region of Virginia. We lived there from mid-primary school to mid-high school. Despite 10 years in the area, I never learned to enjoy either Nascar or country music, although I did become enamored with bluegrass, hand-turned wooden bowls, and quilts. When we moved back to South Jersey my sarcasm and obsessive love for pasta suddenly made sense.

20. Your TV? Is not HD, which is a real challenge when my DVR spontaneously records HD versions of my favorite shows. The screen freaks out, and I can’t escape from it because absolutely nothing is visible, not even the on-screen options for “exit.” So sometimes I just have to turn it off until it’s done recording. And how can I get anything accomplished without a TV on, I ask you? (On a related note, I just found a forgotten collection of Righteous Brothers vinyl. So good.)

26. Vehicle? 2001 Honda Element, which is ALMOST as good as my Honda Fit, which was tragically crushed to death in the winter of 2007. The Element is almost as good as the Fit, certainly more appropriate for Tejas, where everything is at least an hour away and truck-bed sized trunks are necessary. But I am not able to use the word “zippy” to describe the current vehicle. And “zippy” was a defining characteristic of the Fit. I miss the zip.

28. Your favorite store? Urban Outfitters is the coolest, funnest store on the face of the planet. It’s like a Barnes and Noble, where you can wander and experience, but with about a million things other than books. Their website doesn’t do them justice. If there is one near you, you should go. Something for everyone, the way a good store should be.

29. Your favorite color? Yellow. It used to be blue, but I changed it. I can’t wear it unless I am ridiculously tanned, which is why (I think) I always avoided calling it my favorite color. But really, I like warm colors much more than cool colors, and yellow is the happiest. T/F: YELLOW.

30. When was the last time you laughed? My sister Zee called me last night and we traded stories about our Halloween weekend. Her story culminated with a drunken party-goer smacked in the face with a shoe by someone’s girlfriend, because he had been drawing on the boyfriend’s sleeping face with a Sharpie. That made me laugh pretty hard.

32. Your best friend? Hubs, of course. Any married person who doesn’t answer this question with the name of their spouse is instantly on my blacklist.

33. One place that you go to over and over? WalMart. It’s got everything I need. And it’s the ONLY place that’s got some of the stuff I need. They’re insidious, but they really are a one-stop shop. On a lighter note, that sushi restaurant in San Antonio is somewhere we return to on EVERY TRIP to the city. If you had told me, when I was in my mid-teens, that I would enjoy sushi as much as I do, I would have called you a big fat liar. Good thing you didn’t say that back then, because it would be very weird for me now, considering how much I crave and adore sushi.

35. Favorite place to eat? My parent’s house is always filled with stories, jokes, laughter, banter, and TONS of food. It’s my favorite table to sit down at, bar none.

8 thoughts on “AN AWARD!”

  1. Super fun to read all this stuff about you! Your parents sound like the best of people. Is your father deceased? (Mine is, too).

    I am embarrassed to say that I never think of saying Big Daddy is my best friend, although, of course, he is. Bad me!

    I also relate to the zippy car regret. I used to have several zippy cars and now I have a “crossover SUV” which is code for “one step shy of a minivan and NOT zippy.”
    Wah.

  2. Congrats on your award, and thanks for those interesting insights into you and your family! enjoy your mom's visit – your parents sound amazing 🙂

  3. I knew you'd be just the right person to tackle this one!!!

    And of course your life is awesome and epic! Not only that, you almost manage to convince the rest of us that ours are, too…

    😀

  4. I'm concerned about your thinning hair. It can be a sign of incipient thyroid problems. When was the last time you were to a doctor for a general check-up?

  5. I love that you choose to make your life awesome and epic and then do it . . . stop drinking Diet Coke – so not good for you (and I'm not scolding; that's said with love, as much love as one cn have for a person they never met except through blogging!); coffee – much better . . . nothing like a meal with family – Sunday breakfast with my mom & sibs is a favorite for me; and of course any meal with my kids and their kids!
    Darn. Your blog made me late again.

What do you think?

