Dictionary Fever

Before you get all huffy over my fascination with spelling and gagetry and whatnot, let me just explain what’s going on here. I don’t want to wake up some morning to find an angry mob with torches right outside my front door, ready to pin a scarlet “N” (for nerd) on my sweater.

I got that job I told you about earlier. It has begun, and it is lovely. I sit in a room all day and wait for people to come to me with their writing woes. Then I coach them.

You could say I’m a writing coach. Which means it’s now totally within my normal sphere of influence to look at and share these kinds of things with you:

…Because it’s writing. This job was made for me.

I basically get all of the pluses of being a teacher. I get to sit down with one individual, interact on a personal level, I get to talk (I LOVE to talk) and I get to see them walk away a little happier, or more confident, or with an extra tool in their bag of writing tricks. My entire day is basically spent making other people’s lives better.

On top of that, I don’t have to read 100 papers (one instructor literally has over 100 students turning in essays tomorrow). I don’t have to stand up. I can chew gum. I have set hours, and I don’t have any work that needs to be done “outside” the classroom. Which means down time really is down time. I don’t have to grade tests. I can drink Diet Coke all day. I can listen to Preston & Steve again.

Basically, this job is made entirely of win.

SO FAR.

Lest you think my Mexas-bred antipathy toward any type of employment has blown away in the wind… don’t. Don’t think that. Because it has not. I’ve spent way too much time wallowing in self-pity to give it up so easily.

But this is looking pretty good. And it’s nice that the current M.O. is “tired but happy” on a daily basis, not just for me but for Hubs as well.

Know what the best part is?

Word of the Day! Every day I get to write a new word plus definition up on the old skool blackboard. So far I’ve posted such gems as “jargon,” “cogent,” and “exculpate.” (Exculpate is actually a lie. But it’s on the short list.)

Who am I kidding? I will never stop being a nerd.

8 thoughts on “Dictionary Fever”

  1. I'm thrilled for you. You were definitely not made for Appleby's. We are a family of nerds so you are happily one of us!

  2. I am seriously jealous of your job. I used to be a high school English teacher. And I lived the horror that you just described (100essays getting turned in at once, writin tests, not getting to listen to music all day.) But I did drink Coke during class, so it wasn't a complete loss.

What do you think?

