Sphux

This building makes me almost get into accidents every time I drive by it:


It’s just cool looking. So southwest. So pre-Mexico. I can’t keep my eyes off of it.

Now.

There is a “lake” near us, and by “lake” I mean pond, and by pond I mean don’t get near it because sometimes even dogs refuse to drink from it because it’s really just a runoff holding basin from the behemoths on the other side of the street. But whatever. It’s lake-ish, and it also always has a nice breeze, so a lot of people go there at a lot of different times of day to walk, run, play softball, or maybe to make out in their cars.

“Ducks” live at the “lake.” But they’re like no duck I’ve ever seen.

I’ve been meaning to tell you about these ducks for a while but it’s just hard to remember to bring a camera with me and even harder to remember to take a picture. I’m usually too preoccupied with staring at the “ducks” to raise the camera and press that button.

I got one today, though. It’s a lame picture, totally doesn’t do the “ducks” justice.

But it’s a start.


I call them turkey ducks. See that red stuff on its head? Some ducks have their whole head covered with that stuff. Some have a full wattle.

They’re like the sphinx of the duck world.

6 thoughts on “Sphux”

What do you think?

