Yesterday; An End

(view from the bed)

It was a dark and stormy late afternoon. My OB/GYN called to say that the final round of test results were in, and I was I was in the midst of a well-developed ectopic pregnancy. Emergency surgery was recommended.

As me, my husband, my mom, and my sister discussed the limited options, we realized that the best scenario would be to undergo surgery as soon as possible. Near the end of the conversation, I said, “I really do want this to be over, and to be safe, I just really bothers me that it must be done in the next twenty-four hours.”

HUGE THUNDERCLAP! (It only rains about 14 days total out here, and thunderstorms are practically unheard of.) Then hail. Seriously. Thunder and hail accompanied the decision.

I called the doctor back, got a quick idea of what would be happening and when I needed to report to the hospital (immediately).

We got to the hospital around 6:30pm and I went into surgery around 9:30pm. I made it to surgery literally “just in time,” as I had already begun to hemorrhage. Even though it was terribly scary and uncomfortable to go to a new hospital, far from home, late at night, in the end it was a good choice. It may have saved my life.

Back at home the next day (today). My wonderful husband is with me, along with my mom and sister, who traveled many miles to be with me, and will stay another day to take care of basics. What an amazing blessing that they were available to come to the hospital with me and Hubs. And that Hubs was able to stay with me though the whole time, even though I wasn’t awake for most of the visit.

I’m so glad I had a trustworthy, experienced doctor to deal with this situation. In comparison to the miscarriage last year, this time I was surrounded by a medical staff that knew what was going on, and kept close tabs on me and my pain levels. I’m sure that most of that had to do with the doctor who was treating me.

The two weeks leading up to this event have been difficult and distressing. It’s a relief to have this situation come safely to a close, especially when I’m surrounded by people who love me.

Thank you to family and friends for your prayers and support.

(a welcome piñata greeted me at home)
5 thoughts on “Yesterday; An End”

  1. Oh, Rae…I was wondering why you were so quiet.. so sorry to hear what you've been through, but happy that you are safe, well, and surrounded by love and support..For a little distraction, go over to my blog & pick up an award there 🙂

  2. I am really glad you are okay! You are a strong woman and someone who has become a dear friend to me, I AM GLAD YOU ARE OKAY!!!-Pattyp.s. call me if you need me, or when you are ready for company 🙂

What do you think?

